STEM Careers Project

Picture gallery
Pakistani Students Won Seven Bronze Medals and Two Honorable Mentions in the International Science Olympiads in Japan, UK, Germany and Mexico July-2009


The Pakistani Teams of talented students selected by the STEM Careers Programme (SCP) and its Home Institutes, represented Pakistan in the 20th International Biology Olympiad (IBO) in Tsukuba, Japan, 41st International Chemistry Olympiad (IChO) in Cambridge, UK, 50th International Mathematics Olympiad (IMO) in Bremen Germany and 40th International Physics Olympiad (IPhO) in Merida Mexico in July, 2009.


The IBO team was led by Dr Zafar M Khalid and Dr Muhammad Saeed of NIBGE Faisalabad and Al Hasanat Rasul of STEM Careers Programme. The IChO team was led by Prof Dr. Khalid M Khan and Dr Raza Shah of HEJ Research Institute, Karachi. The IMO team was led by Prof Dr A D Raza Choudary and Dr Ahmed Mahmood Qureshi of ASSMS, GCU, Lahore. The IPhO team was led by Dr Shahid Qamar and Dr Masroor Ikram of PIEAS, Islamabad. These annual International Olympiads provide pre-university science students from around the world an opportunity to compete in solving challenging theoretical and experimental science problems that only the most talented youth of their age can answer. The dedication and hard work of members of the SCP, HEC, Home Institutes i.e. NIBGE, HEJ Research Institute, ASSMS and PIEAS in selecting and preparing these students paid dividends when seven students won Bronze Medals and Two students won Honorable Mentions in these competitions. The details are as under:


Student Name

Father/Guardian Name


College Name


Mahym Mansoor

Mansoor Hussain Bakhtiari


Kinnaird College For Women, Lahore


Ms Tayyaba Maqbool Malik

Maqbool Mubarik Malik


Abdul Razzaq Fazaia College, Mianwali


Ms. Saman Zia

Zia Ul Haq Zia


Lahore Grammer School, 136-E Phase - 1,D.H.A. Lahore


Ms. Nayha Enver

Tariq Enver


'Lahore Grammer School, 136-E Phase - 1,D.H.A. Lahore


Mr Waqar Ali Syed

Syed Muhammad Mohsin


Pak Turk International Schools Karachi Shireen Jinnah Col. Clifton, Karachi.


Mr. Harres Bin Tariq

Samina Tariq 


Resource Academia New Garden Town, Lahore


Mr. Muhammad Zain Ul Abideen Ali Khas

Ansar Ali Khas


Resource Academia New Garden Town, Lahore


Mr Aamir Ayub

Muhammad Ayub 


Bahria College, E-8, Islamabad


Muhammad Musab Jilani/

Muhammad Abdul Qadir Jilani


Karachi Grammer School , Khayaban-E-Saadi, Clifton



A total of 221 students representing 56 countries participated in IBO,  258 students representing 64 countries participated in IChO, 565 students representing 104 countries in IMO and total of 317 students representing 72 countries participated in IPhO. It is not out of place to mention here that most of the students who participate in the National Science Talent Contest arranged by SCP, HEC, invariably get scholarship for their higher studies in leading universities of the world such as Harvard, MIT, Princeton, Stanford, Caltech and Oxford. SCP, HEC is very proud of their achievements and would like to congratulate the winning students, their schools/colleges and their parents for this singular achievement. It is also grateful to all the resource persons and the numerous NSTC alumni in helping identify, motivate and groom these students.


Pakistani IBO-2009 Team: From Left Standing: Dr Muhammad Saeed, PS NIBGE, Mr. Al Hasanat Rasul, PD SCP, Ms Mahym Mansoor, Bronze Medalist, Ms Tayyaba Maqbool Malik, Bronze Medalist, Dr Zafar M Khalid, Director NIBGE. Sitting,from left, Ms Saima Hanif and Mr Raheel Sufian Siddiqui, 18th July, Tsukuba, Japan

Pakistani ICO-2009 Team: From Left Standing: Mr. Bilal Shahid, Ms Nayha Enver (Bronze Medalist) Dr Khalid M Khan, Coordinator NCTC, HEJ, Dr M Raza Shah, Asstt. Prof. HEJ, Ms. Saman Zia (Bronze Medalist) and Mr. Asad Ur Rehman, 26th July, Cambridge, UK

Pakistani IMO-2009 Team: From Left Standing: Mr. Absar-ul-Hassan, Mr. Isfar Tariq, Mr. Ahmad Bilal Aslam, Dr. Ahmad Mahmood Qureshi (Deputy Leader), Mr. Waqar Ali Syed (Bronze Medallist) and Mr. Qasim Mahmood., July-2009, Bremen, Germany

Pakistani IPhO-2009 Team: From Left Standing: Mr. M Zain Ul Abideen Ali Khas (Bronze Medalist), Mr. Musab Jilani (Honorable Mention), Dr Masroor Ikram, DCS, PIEAS, the Pakistani Team Guide, Mr. Aamir Ayub (Honorable Mention), Dr. Shahid Qamar (Team Leader), Sitting from Left: Mr. Harres Bin Tariq (Bronze Medalist) and Ms Anum Jang Sher., 19 July-2009, Merida, Mexico